This website is the official web Page of the office of Senator Chukwuka Godfrey Utazi who represents Enugu North Senatorial District in the Senate of the National Assembly. The office is located Suite 1.19, Senate Building, National Assembly, Abuja. There is a Constituency office at No.1 Nsukka Close, GRA, Nsukka. The Constituency office caters for all matters, concerns and issues affecting the constituency and liaises between the Abuja Office and the Constituency.

Enugu North Senatorial District in one of the 109 Senatorial Districts in Nigeria. Each of the 36 States of Nigeria has three (3) such Districts and the FCT, Abuja is allotted one District. Enugu North is one of the three for Enugu State, the others being Enugu East and Enugu West.

The Senatorial District is bordered on the North by Benue State; to the North-West and the West by Kogi State; to the North-East by Isi-Uzo Local Government; to the South by Anambra State; to the East by Udi LGA and to the South -East by Ezeagu LGA.

The Senatorial District constitutes about 51% of the population of Enugu State. The population of Enugu North is estimated at about ten (10) million people.

Enugu North Senatorial District is made up of areas that originally formed the Nsukka Administrative District. It consists of Six (6) Local Governments Areas, viz: Igbo Etiti, Igbo Eze North, Igbo Eze South, Nsukka, Udenu and Uzo-Uwani. There are 102 Electoral Wards in the District. Together, these Local Governments are agitating for the creation of Adada State for political integration and economic development, leveraging on its geographical contiguity. Adada itself is derived from the name of a River in Nkpologu community of Uzo-Uwani LGA.

Nsukka town is the administrative capital of the District, and has been since 1921. Indeed, the Senatorial District is interchangeably called Nsukka Zone.

Overview Of The Structure Of The National Assembly

The National Assembly is the highest law-making body of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The National Assembly is a bi-cameral legislature made up the Senate and the House of Representatives, with the two (2) Houses havingequal legislative powers in terms of law making. In hierarchical lexicon, the Senate is the ‘upper’ chamber, and the House of Representatives, the ‘lower’ chamber.

In addition, the Senate confirms the President’s nomination of senior diplomats, members of the federal cabinet, federal judicial appointments and independent electoral federal commissions and some other Federal executive bodies.

A bill can originate from any of the Houses but to pass, the two Houses must agree, after which the bill must receive the President’s assent. Should the President delay or refuse assent (veto) the bill, the National Assembly may pass the law by two-thirds of both chambers and this action overridesthe veto and the President’s assent will not be required.

The National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is established under Section 4 of the Nigerian Constitution and comprises a 109-member Senate and a 360-member House of Representatives.  The constitutional composition of the membership of the National Assembly guarantees equal representation of the States irrespective of size in the Senate and proportional representation of population in the House. The National Assembly is located in the Federal Capital, Abuja.


The Senate and the House of Representatives sit separately. The Senate is presided over by the Senate President who is assisted by the Deputy Senate President. Members of the Senate elect them separately. The House of Representatives on the other hand is presided over by the Speaker of the House. He is assisted of the Deputy Speaker. The two Houses hold joint sittings when need arises, especially to receive the annual budget estimates, usually submitted by the President of the Federation.